Doing it for the Kids

It’s a natural, primal instinct for most of us to want to protect our children – to keep them safe from physical danger. But there’s so much more to it than that. What about the nurturing of their magic little minds and their future?

Seems to me that most of us are shrouding them in an unhealthy, apathy-breeding cocktail of religion-based tradition and consumerism, and couldn’t give a flying fuck about what kind of world they’re going to grow up in. Harsh? Maybe. I can only say it as I see it.

I make no claims to be the perfect parent, and I know that even some of my closest friends are at best surprised at my unwillingness to celebrate such bullshit as Christmas and Easter, that I don’t have a working television or any games consoles, and that I am willing to put myself out there on the line when I have ‘responsibilities’.

responsible [ri-spon-suh-buhl]answerable or accountable, as for something within one’s power, control, or management (often followed by to or for)

I don’t do very well at conventional parenting, and I make no apology for that, My kids are loved, happy and healthy. They have a gorgeous knowledge of nature that far surpasses mine, and their creativity shines. They’re interested in how things work beyond the push of a button and they are lovely little free thinkers. When they ask me about something that isn’t clearly factual, I will begin my response with ‘This is what I think..’.
I take my responsibilities as a mother very seriously, but that, for me, stretches way beyond feeding, clothing and keeping them warm, and certainly doesn’t involve the need to be with them 24/7. Personally I think that’s unhealthy. Yet I’ve been getting some grief lately regarding my activism and the fact that I have kids, like I’m putting them in some kind of danger, when the fact is I’m doing it for them – their future. Apparently, taking them on a peaceful protest march to save the Forest was something I should be ashamed of as ‘that sort of thing’ is no place for kids. What, and dumped in front of a TV with controller in hand shooting pixels is?! I find it equally horrifying that my 6 year old son comes back from a weekend at his Dad’s with game console withdrawals. They knew what they were marching for and my daughter even made her own banner. THEY didn’t want to lose what is effectively their playground either, and I swell with pride when I hear them talking about how they helped save it, whereas I facepalm when I hear my boy rejoicing at passing Level 6.
I wouldn’t dream of taking them to London on the 26th March for what will be a HUGE anticuts demo because I’m aware that it may well kick off and there’s a chance of me getting kettled, arrested or even beaten, which was never going to happen in the Forest. The two older ladies behind me even joked about their dismay at the lack of police as they fancied a good kettling.
How outrageously irresponsible, I hear you say, putting yourself at risk like that when you have children depending on you.
I’m going on the 26th BECAUSE I have children depending on me and will continue to fight these truly horrific cuts that WILL affect all of us  in every way I can for that very reason. And I’m fighting for yours too. So before you judge me, ask yourself what are you’re doing. . .
Their freedom’s everything so get your head out of the sand..
I’ll meet you on the white lines, let’s go make a fucking stand..
2 responses to “Doing it for the Kids

  • Kimberley

    I was forced to send my son to a church school as it was the only acceptable school in my area.
    Imagine my surprise when he comes home and starts praying before his meals. I explained to him that it wasn’t necessary to pray if he didn’t want to and that if he did want to then until he understands fully he could simply be grateful for the food he gets and remember those who aren’t so fortunate.
    I told him that at his school many people believe in God (and briefly explained what this means) and go to church and this is why they pray. I then explained to him that I don’t have the same beliefs, and that lots of people have lots of different beliefs. That is why I left it open for him to choose his own beliefs when he gets older.

    He didn’t even know why he was praying, and once asked me if people who go to church have school dinners too!!!!

    After this he told his teacher that he didn’t want to pray (oops) and so I had to go in for a ‘chat’, what surprised me most was the way people reacted to me not allowing my child to become a product of Christian Indoctrination? Like I was a bad parent for letting my child make up his own mind. Not like I said God doesn’t exist or that Christianity is false, I just simply said some people do believe and some don’t. And for now that is about all a 4 year old can handle I think. A friend said to me that it is a sad world for children to grow up without a God to believe in. :O :O
    OH WELL! I’m sure he will thank me one day, just like I did my mother.
    (my siblings and I all have very differing religious beliefs)
    KUDOS on the hard work. Keep it up. We must fight for the world we want for our children because one day they may ask us what we did to help.

    • Ms.Something-Else

      Thanks for commenting, Kim! And good on you too!! My kids go to a C of E school and I did get some grief about pulling them out of religious studies and assembles, but they bowed down to the fact that it was my legal right to choose. Apart from anything else, their brains can only absorb so much at once, and I’d prefer that to be fact over fiction disguised as fact – always! There’s always someone ready to judge, and it’s usually those that need to look a bit harder at themselves.

Leave a Reply

