‘Battle? Kettle of Trafalgar’ – March 26th 2011

I will blog about the whole day when I get home as it was facking ace, but for now I’m just going to focus on Trafalgar Square last night.

When we got there, the party was in full swing, and that’s what it was – a party. There were a couple of sound systems and a few hundred protesters chilling, laughing, chatting and dancing. The atmosphere was similar to that of a festival. After the mentalness of the day it was a perfect ruddy end. Well, until the Met decided to fuck the non-confrontational policing they’d had to submit to all day, and most of them seemed to be loving it!

We were over to one side of Nelson’s Column and away from the bigger crowds as Cosmo had just played a set there, when we noticed the police going into the main crowd and snatching folks out. Then the riot squad appeared by the National Gallery and I thought ‘here we go’ – and in I went. Well, we were there for an occupation and due to the positive, peaceful atmosphere I felt that their presence was unnecessary.

By the time I was back in the crowd, they’d moved onto the Square and I joined the frontline and the chants such as ‘it’s your jobs too, it’s your lives too, it’s your children too’. This went on for a bit and as it died down I looked around and we were surrounded. I asked one of the TSG (Territorial Support Group) coppers why we were being kettled for having a peaceful, if lively, party.

“It’s not kettling, it’s containment” was his reply.

I then felt a hard smack on the back of my head. I looked behind me and there was a barrier lying on the ground.

“Did that just hit me?” I asked the same copper.

“Yep” he said. “you shouldn’t be here then, should you.”

No ‘are you alright?’ or ‘do you want a medic’. But this just showed them up to be the programmed, heartless cunts that they are. I asked if I could leave and he just shook his head.

I got into conversation with one of the non-face covered coppers about the cuts and enquired as to how aware he was of the affects it would have on him and his family. He seemed just as concerned as the rest of us and keen to talk about it. After chatting with him for a few minutes, what I assume was his superior orificer pulled him back and did a bit of talking in his ear. He didn’t return to the front, and I was then hit around the head with a shield as they went for a push forward.

The TSG’s (the ones with their faces covered) were really aggressive and constantly shoving folks with their shields. Mostly short, sharp shoves to those either trying to converse with them or just standing within reach. the only incitement going on was from them and a few protesters on the plinths of Nelson’s column throwing water bottles. Fucking thugs, you may think. Dunno. When an animal is cornered its natural instinct is to lash out. That instinct extends to humans. Chuck some adrenalin in there and you’re going to get allsorts of reactions. This chucking stuff wasn’t constant though, or full on. The media coverage is bollocks.

I just wanted to get out, so I worked my way around the arc of old bill trying to find another vaguely human one. I was shoved more and took another smack on the head, AFTER telling them I’d been hit by a flying barrier, as they pushed us into a smaller space. They were up on the monument by this point too. they must have been letting folks out somewhere as protester numbers seemed to be dwindling.

So I kept trying to talk to them about the cuts and asking if I could go now. Reactions were mostly accusing me of violent disorder, if I got a reaction instead of killer cold looks at all. Then i asked where I could have a piss.

“Over there” one said and vaguely pointed.

“Can you be more specific?” I asked.

“No. Go where you like.” he replied. There was nowhere to go.

“Ok, thanks. If that’s the case, I’ll go here.” And that’s what I did. Got down and did a big piss right in front of them. Their faces! Think I even clocked some vague change of expression on a couple of the TSGs half-hidden mugs. Shook, got up, and said “See, I really did need that.” as it headed stream-like towards their boots.

There was a first-aider among the protesters who checked me out after seeing me standing alone and looking a bit vague for a bit. He thought I was concussed and got me to drink some water. Thanks go out to him for spotting me.

After much dotting out to the riot line and back in to the middle again, I eventually found a woman copper who was prepared to listen to the fact that I’d had a big bang on the head and didn’t feel right and needed to get out. She didn’t have her face covered and she looked pretty terrified by the whole thing. The bloke next to her, who did have his face covered, couldn’t resist nudging me with his shield as I spoke to her though. Cunt. She got a medic for me who did nothing but look at my eyes. I told them they could verify what happened with their colleagues as they watched it happen then refused to get me any help or leave. I was instructed to go around the back of the column and to keep walking. I couldn’t resist a last grin at them all. Well, it was good to be out!

Most of the folks I was kettled in with weren’t throwing stuff. The ones I was chatting with hadn’t been smashing shit up all day. They’d been protesting peacefully and then up for a party. Almost ALL of the ones I spoke with had been hit with shields WITHOUT being confrontational. The police were unnecessarily brutal in Trafalgar Square last night. In fact, their presence in that capacity was completely uncalled for.

So I took three blows to the head, two of which were definitely the old bill. I also have a bruised nose, several small bruises on my arms and legs and even a cut and bruise UNDER my 20 hole Docs. I vaguely remember being kicked and shoved to the ground by the nice orificers too.

Most of the media cover on the ‘Battle of Trafalgar’ is complete and utter bollocks. That is all.


4 responses to “‘Battle? Kettle of Trafalgar’ – March 26th 2011

  • Rudecat jack

    The unreported police brutality at: KETTLE ‘BATTLE’ AT TRAFALGAR!!

    This is my account of Saturday night in Trafalgar square. i am a smallish women in my young twenties! i was one of 50 remaining protesters surrounded from all sides by over 300 riot police, kettled in completely we had about 50 of us still on nelsons collum linking together so they couldnt pick out individuals to to drag away, when they moved in to remove us i got held down by 3 male riot officers! Two on top of me whilst one Goosed My arm even after the officer (C*NT FEATURES) had asked me 3 times whilst on the floor if i would gt down AND i was shouting yes! they didn’t get off me till i was screaming in pain then they threw me off the wall into another line of riot police with shields. i was then arrested for breach of the peace and driven to another part of London! i was treated well by the women copper who arrested me as she and another female officer had seen what had happened they looked quite shocked and i had even heard her say :

    ” that wasn’t right she seems really sweet” this proves BLATANT UNNECESSARY POLICE BRUTALITY!

    Previously three attempts were made by 1 officer (the same c*nt who goosed me) to drag me away from the other protester, lucky for me i managed to get back all three times with help from sum amzing people the third time:)!!! i was standing my ground but PROTESTING PEACEFULLY as was everybody else at Trafalgar square late saturday night!

    THE POLICE CREATED THE VIOLENCE IN THIS CASE WE WERE ALL ABOUT THE LOVE AND UNITY GOOD VIBES UNTIL THEY CLOSED US IN AND BATTERED MOST OF US IN ONE WAY OR ANOTHER! F*CK THE POLICE

    Was this force really needed when we were having a non violent protest! ITS A PUBLIC SQUARE ANYWAY WHAT THE FUCK!!

    What are they protecting anyway there jobs are getting cut aswell as basically every other sector iNCLUDING NHS! EDUCATION! PUBLIC HOUSING! everything that helps the underclass! CONSERVATIVE CUNTS

    There are already passing the order for it to be illegal to sleep on the streets of London and to give out free food to the homeless ………THENNNN there planning To close all the squats around the country !
    so every squatter is going to be put out on the street but it will be illegal for them to sleep on the street! WHAT THE FUCK DO THEY EXPECT ALL THOSE PEOPLE TO DO!

    THIS REALLY MAKES ME WONDER WHAT OUR GOVERNMENT IS TRYING TO CAUSE??????

    OUR GOVERNMENT IS FUCKED!!
    TIME TO RISE UP AND FIGHT BACK CHANGE HAS TO HAPPEN ITS HAPPENING ALREADY BUT EDUCATED AWARENESS NEEDS TO BE RAISED

    TIME TO GET RESEARCHING GET SPREADING THE KNOWLEDGE AND TO GET ON IT !

    RECLAIM THE STREETS!!! POWER TO THE PEOPLE!! 🙂 XXX

  • scanx

    Thanks for your testimony folks. There’s a load of shite being talked up about what happened that night. People are swallowing the media’s nonsense whole sale. Thank you for taking the time to put it straight.

  • Careful Now – Concerning Gail « Lazarou Monkey Terror's Blog

    […] friend and fiery anti-fascist Gail, trapped behind the line. Her own account of events can be found here. Already suffering from concusussion as a result of a steel barrier being thrown over her head the […]

  • No Gods, No Masters (On Violence at Demos) – Picket Line Party track 4 « Freedom for Tooting!!!

    […] I was with a really cool crew! Thanks to all of ya! You can read what really happened at Trafalgar Square on this demo here! […]

Leave a comment